CRAPTASTIC TALENT

I discovered this very, very funny site a few weeks ago: http://crappypictures.com. Obviously, anything with “crappy” in the title is going to get my attention, and even more so when it involves crappy things having to do with parenting. Amber Dusick not only details the many hilariously crappy aspects of the whole parenting experience in her posts, she illustrates them with stick figures.

When I first found her, I could only read one of her archive posts a day. She’s almost too funny in that way that makes my head hurt. Whenever I encounter people who are way too talented for their own good, I’m often overcome by a seething jealousy that makes me want to hate that person. It’s easy to do when it’s someone famous like say, Gwyneth Paltrow, who not only can act well, but has a damn good voice to boot. Or Justin Timberlake, who found much success as a singer, and turns out to be not only a great actor, but a freakishly talented funnyman.

What’s up with that? Were they in line more than once when God was handing out talent? Are they luckier than most? Good karma? It’s just not fair that one person should have more than one outstanding talent in life. It’s like winning the lottery twice. There’s no need for it.

Anyway, back to Amber, who mind you, is also young and pretty. I tried to find something to dislike about her, I did. But sadly, I couldn’t. She’s humble, even when she’s promoting her new book—a feat not easy to pull off as all of us on Twitter can attest to. Usually, I can dislike someone based on the fact that they’re just. too. talented. I can’t stand feeling unworthy in the face of another person’s tremendous gifts. But alas, I cannot despise Amber, because she’s just so spot on with her observations and she makes me laugh out loud.

Here’s an example:
http://crappypictures.com/the-uppers-downers-of-parenting-or-coffee-wine/

If you found that funny, we could be friends. If you don’t find Amber funny at all, then you probably shouldn’t be reading my blog. You may be one of the people in an uproar over Amber’s new book. Seems these folks think if you’re not ecstatic, grateful, and Zenlike over every aspect of being a parent, you’re the equivalent of Mama Britney Spears.
http://now.msn.com/amber-dusicks-i-quit-parenting-comics-are-controvesial/

Who hasn’t secretly longed for their single + 1 cat days while waiting out their child’s tantrum?
Who hasn’t wished they could leaf through a magazine while sitting on the toilet without seeing tiny fingers poking under the bathroom door?
Who wishes the word “quickie” was used to describe a cleaning wipe instead of your sex life?

Come on, Society, have a sense of humor! Being a parent sucks. Sure, it’s rewarding and fulfilling at times, but those times aren’t usually acknowledged until your kid graduates with honors from Yale and is going on to medical school. Parenting isn’t fun, (unless endless laundry, homework, and constant defiance happen to be your thing), but to admit that doesn’t mean you love your kid any less (it just means you’re counting the days until they’re out of the house).

My son went to Knott’s Berry Farm yesterday from 8 am to 9 pm. I made love to my peace and quiet like a long-lost lover. But come 6 pm, I missed the little f**ker and I couldn’t wait for him to come home. However, the next morning when he was demanding breakfast and asking me to Google something online before I had even had my first cup of coffee (while mauling the Diva, and causing her to bark nonstop), I kinda wished another trip to Knott’s was on the agenda for him that day.

This was the comment I left regarding that MSN article: “Any parent who doesn’t secretly think any of this stuff or that their kid’s s**t doesn’t stink is either delusional, heavily medicated, or a Stepford.”

Rottenecards_63871734_6s3hqctkgp

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Menopausal Mother
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 10:07:37

    Yeah, she’s really good—discovered her in that nightmare Circle Of Moms contest last February. Turns out most of my bloggy friends were already following her, so I had to take a peek and was delighted with what I found!

    Reply

    • Tiffany N. York
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 11:12:43

      I’m always late to the party. Lol “nightmare Circle Of Moms contest.” Was this the top 25 Mom bloggers one? Why was it a nightmare? I bet it was because you felt like you had to totally pimp yourself out! Hey, it worked though!

      Reply

  2. Damien
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 07:11:10

    I can only commiserate with the external poopy world in terms of cleaning out a litter box. But I once found a dime in her poop and once she hid some in my shoe when I went away for too long.

    Reply

  3. Crazy. Kinda.
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 13:17:53

    Can I just say “Thank you” for pointing me to this blog?! OMG! I’m reading it at work (yeah, shame on me) and it’s the only thing keeping me going today. I’m dying over here!

    Reply

    • Tiffany N. York
      Apr 16, 2013 @ 15:11:04

      Was I right or what?! Trust me, it’ll be even funnier AFTER you have your baby, because if you can’t laugh at all the crap having to do with kids, well…

      Make sure you read the post on Quickies! hahahahaha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

