This is an excellent question. What do you think? Short and sweet, or long and meaty? (And no, this is not referring to anything sexual.)

bottledworder

Is it possible to deal with a topic in depth in a single blog post and still be read by a substantial number of people on a blog platform? Or is a blog post meant to be short, striking, entertaining for a moment, even intriguing, merely pointing to something more extensive and detailed? Is it meant to just keep people updated, a “Hello! I’m here” as opposed to “Hey! I’m here to visit and here’s my luggage. I plan to settle in for a while.”

View original post 393 more words

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Menopausal Mother
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 21:15:37

    I think it depends on what you are writing about. If it is poignant–or some life-altering event, it may need to be a longer post so that you can tell the whole story and share your reactions to it. Shorter posts are nice too though, because I know that sometimes when I go to read another blogger’s post and if it looks to be too long, I may not have the time I need to read all of it carefully. I just think in the long run there s more success with shorter posts. If it IS a long one, you gotta make it interesting as hell to keep the reader engaged!

    Reply

    • Tiffany N. York
      Mar 26, 2013 @ 08:21:15

      Excellent points! I forget how limited everyone’s time is, and that perhaps shorter posts are the better way to go, but you’re right about longer posts being more effective for serious topics. There’s an art to writing shorter, more concise posts though–journalism teaches you this–but me? I tend to rant on and on and on…

      Reply

  2. Crazy. Kinda.
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 12:22:17

    I agree with Menopausal Mother, in that it depends on the topic at hand. Some things really do need more in depth explanation, while others can be short and to the point. If a blog is interesting to me and is long, I’ll read it. . .as long as it stays interesting. However, I will admit to following one person (because they followed me and I thought I’d be nice and return the favor) that posts anywhere from 2 to 3 blogs A DAY. At that point it spams up my email (since I get notices when a blog I follow posts) and I lose interest. Honestly, I haven’t read any of that particular blog in months and should probably unfollow it. (*Sigh* Unfollow? I couldn’t come up with anything better.)

    I wrote a short story quite some time ago. It was from a writing prompt someone suggested I try. I posted it on my facebook, asking for feedback. One person, whose opinion I deeply value, told me I really should have gotten in to more detail about certain aspects of the story. I think they missed the part where I said it was a SHORT story. Short and sweet equals less detail. End of story.

    Reply

    • Tiffany N. York
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 20:12:15

      2-3 blog posts a day? How is that even humanly possible? The only thing I am able to do 2-3x a day is go to the bathroom and eat, and even then…

      All I keep hearing about is how short everyone’s attention span is nowadays, and how no one has much time anymore, and it’s true that there are a lot of blogs to follow and it all gets overwhelming at times. But it DOES depend on the topic at hand and the content matter of the blog itself.

      I cannot write short stories to save my life. I think they’re really difficult to do well, although some writers have a knack for writing them. You’re right in that there cannot be a whole lot of detail, and I guess the detail you do decide to add needs to be extremely select and succinct. I think that’s why I write novels. I have a hard time being a woman of few words.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

