JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER

It’s here! Drum roll, please. The first unveiling of my cover to the public for THE ACCIDENTAL COUGAR.

Whaddya think?

Do you get that they’re salsa dancing? Because a writer friend of mine said it looked like she was giving him a BJ, and my nine-year-old son told me the woman looked like she was falling.

Hmmm, not quite the reactions I expected, although the insinuation of a BJ may help me in the long run by piquing the curiosity of readers. Yes, there is sex in my book. It should probably get a NC-17 rating.

What?! Did you actually expect anything less from me?

Usually, the cover is what motivates a reader to pick up a book in the first place, or in the age of e-publishing, click on a cover to see what the book’s about.

I opted not to have a half-naked man and generously-endowed woman in a steamy embrace on the cover, because, well, to me that’s just a tad unrealistic. I remember when, back in the 90s, Fabio was the prototype for every man on a romance cover. His hair color may have changed from cover to cover, but it was always Fabio—well-muscled torso, smooth as a baby’s butt hairless chest, and long, flowing locks.

Nowadays, romance readers expect a more sophisticated design, at least with contemporaries. A little bit left to the imagination, in my opinion. Or at the very least, a cover that won’t embarrass them on the subway.

I think just enough skin is shown here to be provocative, without being slutty. And really, isn’t that what many women attempt to achieve when they go out for the night? I mean, unless they’re from the Jersey Shore.

Salsa has a special significance in THE ACCIDENTAL COUGAR. It’s the first real “contact” my hero and heroine have together. What do you think of when you think of salsa dancing? Do the words sexy, hot, passionate, and sensual come to mind?

With any luck, those words will come to my readers’ minds as well.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kimberleytroutte
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 10:50:48

    Hot dancing and more spicy stuff to follow comes to my mind when I see this cover. Caliente!
    I like the colors too.

    Reply

  2. hannahkarena
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 12:13:48

    Definitely looks like salsa. Spicy salsa that might lead somewhere else, yes, but definitely not currently experiencing a BJ. Their bodies are no where near being in the right locations!

    Reply

  3. angelin
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 12:27:31

    Love the salsa-theme, but to be honest that doesnt really pop up in my mind when I see the cover, she looks more like she´s falling actually…But the colors are great and I just love the title! Is that the final title?

    Reply

    • Tiffany N. York
      Mar 26, 2012 @ 14:12:22

      So that’s two opinions for falling…hah! Yes, that is the final title and it’s about exactly what you think! She’s 41, he’s 25. As soon as I get the final blurb approved, I’ll post it.

      Reply

  4. Cie
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 13:09:09

    I think the cover looks great. Love the color scheme and the font.

    Reply

  5. Crazy. Kinda.
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 13:10:39

    The shoes, dress, hand and leg position say “dancing” to me.

    Reply

  6. jeff7salter
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 15:58:24

    Honest reaction?
    I thought it was an odd-looking embrace at first.
    As I looked more carefully at the placement of her hand on his shoulder, I was able to discern dancing. However, if you were willilng to move the right side crop OUT very slightly, I think ‘dancing’ would be very evident.

    Reply

  7. Meredith Schorr
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 08:01:58

    I would have guessed either dancing or one of those exagerrated “Hollywood Kisses” where the hero dips the heroine. Definitely not a BJ. Really? Love the red dress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

